Airsep Focus - POC Review

Oxygen Times Rating: 3.77/ 5
Oxygen Times Pulse Portable Rank: 5 (See all ratings)

Last modified: June 18, 2019

Airsep Focus is the smallest Portable Oxygen Concentrator (POC) in market. The product with certain flow limitations is smallest and lightest from all its competitors. The product is designed for active patients who need ‘little’ supplemental Oxygen to carry their routine.

airsep focus smallest oxygen concentrator

What you would like about Airsep Focus:

  • Extremely light – 800 grams
  • Palm sized – Smallest POC in market
  • Airsep’s Ultra sense technology – High sensitivity – Doesn’t miss to detect a breath
  • Easy to use – just an on/off switch
  • Smart to carry – Doesn’t look medical
  • FAA approved – Can be taken on board; airplane use
  • Works well with car charger
  • Total battery back-up of 7 hours with AirBelt
  • Works well with tubing up to 7.62 meter (25 ft.)

What you won’t:

  • Battery not inside the machine. Needs to be carried separately.
  • Machine comes with 2 batteries of duration 1.5 hour each. So needs to be manually switched after 1.5 hour for 3 hours duration.
  • Flow is limited – provides ‘2 pulse setting’ i.e. equivalent of 2 LPM ‘only’. No reserve if O2 requirement increases in future.
  • The machine can’t be set on ‘1 pulse setting’
  • No continuous flow option available; can’t be used directly with PAP devices.

Size

Unbelievably small as compared to any other Portable Oxygen Concentrator in market. (6.4” H x 4.8” W x 2.5” D)

airsep focus unit with battery

Weight

The ‘Focus’ unit weighs only 800 grams. The battery weighing about 240 grams has to be worn separately. For some people wearing the battery separately may be a hassle and some may like it because the weight gets distributed.

Unit: 800 grams

Battery: 240 grams per battery (2 included)

Optional AirBelt: 800 grams

The unit is lighter in weight than any of its competitors even if it is worn with both the batteries.

Oxygen Purity

Standard purity like any other concentrator of 90% (-3% / +5.5%) in operating range.

Battery

No internal battery; has to be worn separately either on waist, hip or on the unit’s shoulder strap.

airsep focus battery with waist clip

Airsep also provides a bag with battery pockets as an accessory for people who don’t want to wear the belt separately. Focus comes with 2 batteries of duration 1.5 hours each and that’s why for getting the complete back up of 3 hours the person has to carry both batteries separately & manually switch to the 2nd battery when the 1st depletes.

focus bag with battery pockets

The battery has a built in charge indicator which shows how much the battery is charged, the 4 LEDs flash to display the status of battery in 25% increments.

AirSep Focus Battery LED indicators

The battery keeps on charging simultaneously even when the unit is running on AC/DC power.

Airsep Focus Battery Duration Chart
Source Duration Quantity Total Duration
Battery 1.5 hours 2 3 hours
Airbelt 4 hours 1 4 hours
2 Batteries + Airbelt (1.5 + 1.5 + 4) hours 3 7 hours

AirBelt (Optional Battery belt) can be purchased separately if more battery back-up is required. The AirBelt provides additional 4 hours of battery which makes it total duration of 7 hours (4 hours of belt + 3 hours of 2 batteries).

Recharge time from fully depleted state

  • Battery pack: 4 hours
  • Optional Airbelt: 3 hours

Power Sources

The Airsep Focus POC works on 4 sources:

  • AC Mains
  • DC Source (like car charger)
  • Rechargeable battery
  • AirBelt (Additional Battery belt)

Looks

Very small in size; looks good & can be worn on/across the shoulders. The POC is very much wearable.

man wearing airsep focus

Flow

Provides flow rate of pulse setting of 2 i.e. equivalent of 2 Litres Per Minute only which is quite low for many patients; it would have been great if the machine could provide flow of up to “3 pulse setting” but of course due to its extremely small size and weight this is a limitation.

The machine provides only pulse flow i.e. gives Oxygen only when patient inhales; therefore, can’t be used with PAP devices.

Alarms

No text display of alarms – therefore, one needs to look at the table of alarms to see which kind of alarm is represented by the visual or audible indicators.

Alarms in Airsep Focus
Alarm Type Visual Audible
Low Battery Alarm Amber Light - 1 - half second flash and a 5 second pause 1- half second beep and a 5 second pause
Battery Shut Down Amber Light - 2 - half second flash and a 5 second pause 2- half second beep and a 5 second pause
No Inspiration / Cannula Disconnect (15 minute) Amber Light - Solid Continuous Beep
Breath Rate Exceeded Amber Light - 3 - half second flash and a 5 second pause 3- half second beep and a 5 second pause
Malfunction Red Light - 2 - half second flash and a 5 second pause 2- half second beep and a 5 second pause
AirSep Focus Top view
  • Left - Red LED
  • Center - Battery / Charger Cable Connector
  • Right - Yellow / Green LED

Warm Up Time

2 minutes

Maintenance

No routine maintenance required. Just an internal filter needs to be replaced after 5000 hours of operation.

Power Switch

The POC has an external power ON/OFF switch used to power on/off the machine from external battery or A/C mains.

airsep focus power switch

Altitude

up to 10,000 ft. (3,048m) above sea level

International Approvals

US Food & Drug Administration (FDA); CE 0439; ISO 13485:2003; Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

The Outstation Carrying Bag

focus outstation carrying bag

Top 5 Wearable POCs in Focus' competition

  1. AirSep Freestyle 3
  2. Inogen One G3
  3. Invacare XPO2
  4. Inogen One G2
  5. AirSep Freestyle 5

Top 3 comparison with AirSep Focus

  1. AirSep Focus v/s AirSep Freestyle 3
  2. AirSep Focus v/s Inogen One G3 v/s Inogen One G2
  3. AirSep Focus v/s Invacare XPO2

Country of Manufacture 

United States of America (USA)

Airsep Focus is the right concentrator for those who are looking for a POC that’s not too heavy. We would highly recommend it for people who need ‘little’ supplemental Oxygen & want an independent lifestyle with high mobility. The product is not suitable for people with high/increasing Oxygen demands.

Comments

swati
Posted from India on: 2017-11-08 at 03:56:53
My mother is suffering from COPD and was recently advised oxygen for 2L . We bought the Philips Everflow for homeuse and is working fine 24 hours. But I would like her to be mobile and go out for a change for which I am looking for a portable oxygen concentrator, am not sure whether she would need a continuous or a pulse flow should do for small durations..Can you please advise
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-11-13 at 02:08:24
Hi Swati, you will have to consult your physician as he / she will be the right person to tell that whether your mom can use a pulse based oxygen concentrator or not. Another way of knowing that would be to try a pulse flow concentrator for a day or two and check constantly whether your mother is maintaining the right amount of oxygen saturation in her blood. Once this step is done, we can recommend which concentrator you should buy or you can simply check out all the oxygen concentrators rating by clicking here.
ABDULMALIK
Posted from Saudi Arabia on: 2017-10-17 at 17:04:15
I want to buy the device
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-10-17 at 22:29:47
Hi Abdul, Oxygen Times is an informational website which provides unbiased reviews and comparisons of oxygen concentrators. We do not sell oxygen concentrators.
Bhaskar Dasgupta
Posted from India on: 2017-09-13 at 09:20:55
Prescription is 1-2 Litres/Min for 6-8 hrs at night. Which model will be most suitable. Price thereof.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-09-13 at 09:27:33
Hi Bhaskar, all oxygen concentrators will suit your need just fine. You can compare all concentrators using our Comparison Tool. Coming to your second question, a 5 LPM home oxygen concentrator will cost you in between INR 40,000 to INR 50,000 and portable oxygen concentrators start from INR 1,50,000 and go upto INR 3.5 lac.
Phuntsok
Posted from India on: 2017-05-13 at 13:03:46
Respected Sir, M from India n having asthma more then 7 yrs n Doctor advice to purchase oxygen, but I don't have much budget to buy poc, coz even m handicap too n can't take more weight, so m looking light weight poc but too high cost, please if you have any concession on poc having light weight than I will be highly thankful to you, Thanks
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-05-14 at 01:38:18
Hi Phuntsok, Oxygen times is an informational website where we provide unbiased review and comparision of different oxygen concentrators. We don't buy or sell oxygen concentrators.
Sharma
Posted from India on: 2017-05-08 at 10:35:15
My 14 yrs old Daughter having asthmatic problem from 10 Years.Can this help her during asthmatic attack.need to know please please reply.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-05-08 at 10:45:47
Hi Mr. Sharma, you will have to take your daughter to the doctor and if he / she finds that the oxygen saturation in her body is less than normal then only they will prescribe a concentrator.
Bojana Galabova
Posted from Bulgaria on: 2016-12-12 at 03:39:21
Hello! I understand that oxygen is only delivered upon inhalation. How do I know this is working properly? I do not feel any oxygen/air flow when I breathe. Is there a way to confirm that oxygen is flowing? Thank you.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-01-02 at 05:41:50
Usually people don't feel the oxygen coming out of pulse flow oxygen concentrators . You can test it by putting your finger on the nozzle and when you remove, you will hear the sound of air coming out.
Bojana Galabova
Replied from United Kingdom on: 2017-02-16 at 02:32:22
Thank you very much for your answer. One additional question - the cords disattach very easily when walking, it is practically impossible to keep them in place. Is there a way to secure the ones that connect the unit to the battery?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-03-17 at 00:37:04
Apart from the accessories that come in the bag, there is no other way of keeping them in place.
Maggie Heeney
Replied on: 2017-04-20 at 13:17:37
Has the issue regarding the hose detaching been resolved by the company?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2017-04-21 at 08:52:22
Aisep has not made any modifications in this concentrator as of now.
Basilio Garcia
Posted from United States on: 2016-11-22 at 07:42:43
What exactly is the difference between the different Focus units? They all look basically the same externally, hard to tell them apart. I need a unit I can carry with me, less weight possible, AC/DC with car charger that can operate the unit and charge at the same time. If possible and a reasonable amount of battery life at least 4 hrs, if possible as may have to use it later on a permanent way but would like to remain as active as possible and to be always to have a reserve with me.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-11-23 at 05:50:39
All AirSep Focus units are the same. Focus is the world's smallest and lightest POC till date. You can go for AirSep Freestyle 3 with external battery belt. Its slightly heavy compared to AirSep Focus but it is a good machine.
Somaye
Posted from Iran on: 2016-07-25 at 12:13:27
Hello. I want to buy one of Airsep focus portable oxygen concentrators .I live in Iran and now I want to know: 1- How much does it cost? 2- How can I buy it or if I will pay money for it then would you mail it to me?
Somaye
Replied on: 2016-08-10 at 02:29:02
Hi Somaye, we don't sell oxygen concentrators. This is just an information website.
Marco Presta
Posted from Italy on: 2016-07-18 at 08:06:03
I need 1lpm oxy, is it ok for me?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-07-18 at 08:16:15
Yes!
Marco
Replied from italy on: 2016-07-18 at 08:53:02
I mean Airsep Focus, says 2lpm ONLY, and my use 1lpm
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-07-21 at 02:33:09
Hi Marco, that does not create much of a difference for such low requirement. You can use AirSep Focus without any worries.
Javier Carrascosa
Posted from Spain on: 2016-07-17 at 04:35:46
Can it work for 9 hours connecting to AC 220 volts?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-07-18 at 08:17:13
Yes, it can be used for 9 hours while being plugged in to the AC supply.
Farzana Doctor
Posted from India on: 2016-05-03 at 01:19:15
Pl could you contact me with the price details and availability.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-05-03 at 07:19:49
Hi Farzana, Oxygen Times is an information and review website. To know the price and availability, you can use our dealer locator tool to find the oxygen concentrator dealer in your city.
Katr
Posted from Korea on: 2016-04-28 at 18:10:51
Airsep focus needed. Documents? Price? And how to get it?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-04-29 at 22:11:10
Hi Katr, we don't have any distributors for Korea in our database. Kindly contact the manufacturer directly.
Andrew Ferguson
Posted from UK on: 2016-03-19 at 09:35:32
Very useful info above, but it gives no clue as to effectiveness. Due to slowly developing fibrosis (caused by sarcoidosis) I can only walk on the flat at about half normal speed. How much difference would an Airsep Focus make? Thank you.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-03-30 at 05:16:47
Hi Andrew, the effectiveness depends on how much oxygen you have been prescribed. The machine is fully effective for patients having oxygen requirement of 2 LPM.
John Schneder
Posted from USA on: 2016-03-12 at 11:57:41
Will the supplied batteries also work with Airsep Freestyle concentrators?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-03-30 at 05:12:05
Hi John, battery of AirSep Focus won't work with AirSep Freestyle.
Xiang Rong
Posted from Canada on: 2016-01-31 at 10:00:34
Would like to get a quote for Airsep Focus. Thanks!
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2016-02-14 at 05:14:31
Hi Xiang, we don't sell oxygen concentrators. Oxygen Times is just an information and review website.
Sebastian Gunningham
Posted from United States on: 2015-12-16 at 10:17:18
I still dont understand how I turn the unit on. Where is the on/off switch?
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2015-12-17 at 10:34:07
Hello Sebastian, the cable that connects battery to the machine has the switch to turn on/off the machine. See the image below:
airsep focus power switch
E Kold
Posted on: 2015-10-17 at 16:11:46
Why does my Focus by Airsep shut down after running for only 2 minutes? Same problem with both battery and external power supply.
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2015-10-19 at 12:59:38
This usually happens due to unit overheat. Check the air inlets and exhaust vents for obstruction. If the problem persists, contact your service provider.
Debbie
Posted from Florida on: 2015-07-23 at 09:11:04
I want some help before buying it, if you can please call me at 9542637814
Oxygen Times
Replied on: 2015-07-23 at 09:46:08
Hello Debbie, feel free to post your questions here so others can also benefit from them. If you don't want to post them publicly, you can also mail us on admin@oxygentimes.com.


Read next: Questions asked by patients when they are prescribed Oxygen
Go to: Portable Oxygen Concentrator Reviews
Loading gif